Rams Awards 2016

Posted on 6th December 16

awardsThe Yorkshire Rams celebrated a successful season with the annual team Awards Evening on Saturday, December 3 at South Leeds Stadium.

Adam Cowley was named overall MVP, as well as winning Ram of the Year and his customary nod as Maniac of the Year.

Curiously, though, neither of the Defensive MVP votes went in his favour, with fellow lineman Eoin Byrne scooping the players’ award and linebacker Charlie Gough honoured by the coaches.

Quarterback Taylor Umland was the players’ Offensive MVP, with receiver Andrew Cheeseman the coaches’ choice, while Phil Gatenby was named Offensive Lineman of the Year and defensive back/kick returner Tyler cowley3Broad was a deserving winner of Rookie of the Year.

As always, before the ‘proper’ awards were presented under the supervision of social secretary Lauren Stewart, there were a series of joke awards including many of the team squirming through a selection of their old Facebook photos in the “Where will I be in five years?” section – the brainchild of Cowley, right.

Congratulations to all our winners, after a season which saw strong competition across the board.

award-winnersAward winners

Overall MVP: Adam Cowley

Players Offensive MVP: Taylor Umland

Players Defensive MVP: Eoin Byrne (second right)

Coaches Offensive MVP: Andrew Cheeseman

Coaches Defensive MVP: Charlie Gough (right)

Rookie of the Year: Tyler Broad (left)

Ram of the Year: Adam Cowley

Maniac of the Year: Adam Cowley

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Phil Gatenby (second left)